New regulations respecting the pay and allowances of the Canadian militia came into force on May 1. They were pro-Pay and allowances of mulgated in a supplement to the Canada Gazette of May 5.

Canadian militia.

Dec. 25, 1905. Death of the Hon. J. Raymond F. Préfontaine, Minister of Marine and Fisheries, in Paris, France. His Obituary remains by direction of the Imperial Government were conveyed from Cherbourg to Halifax on the battleship Dominion and were accorded a public funeral at Montreal on Jan. 25.

- Mar. 14. Death of the Hon. A. G. Jones, Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, aged 82.
- May 3. Death of the Hon. Peter White, M.P., formerly Speaker of the Dominion House of Commons, aged 68.
- June 11. Death of the Hon. Sir Hector L. Langevin, formerly Minister of Public Works, aged 78.
- Aug. 5. Death of the Hon. Robert Sedgewick, K.C., a judge of the Supreme Court of Canada, aged 58.
- Nov. 18. Death of the Hon. Alexander Vidal, member of the Senate, aged 87.
- Nov. 22. Death of the Hon. William Kerr, member of the Senate, aged 77.
- Dec. 10. Death of Col. Louis F. Pinault, C.M.G., Deputy Minister of Militia and Defence for Canada.
- Feb. 3, Joseph Lavergne, one of the judges of the superior court for the province of Quebec, to be a puisné judge of the Judicial appointments. court of king's bench for Quebec in the room and stead of the Hon. J. A. Ouimet, resigned.
- June 4. The Hon. Charles Fitzpatrick, K.C., to be chief justice of Canada in the room and stead of the Right Hon. Sir H. E. Taschereau, resigned.
- June 6. The Hon. Sir Melbourne McTaggart Tait, a puisné judge of the superior court of the province of Quebec, to be chief justice of the Superior Court of the province of Quebec in the room and stead of the Hon. A. B. Routhier, resigned.
- July 23. Hector Mansfield Howell, of Winnipeg, to be chief justice of Manitoba. The Hon. Albert Elswood Richards, the Hon. William Egerton Purdue, puisné judges of the court of king's bench for Manitoba, and Frank Hedley Phippen, barrister-at-law of Winnipeg, to be judges of the court of appeal for Manitoba.